Vanessa Fernandez - When The Levee Breaks


EtiquetaGroove Note
Embalagem 3LP – 45rpm
GramagemVinil 180g


Three LPs, 45 RPM 180-gram black vinyl, numbered edition

Mastered by Bernie Grundman from the analog tape mixed by Michael C. Ross

“This was a grand musical experiment, risky and costly for the producer Ying Tan, recorded all-analog by Michael C. Ross at United Recording (formerly Ocean Way). … The arrangements and the playing, especially Tim Pierce’s acoustic guitars and Keltner’s drumming, are, for the most part, musically rewarding and Fernandez delivers the goods most of the time. …This is an ‘audiophile’ production that aims for a certain ‘absolute sound’ of a band and a singer playing in a space and in that regard it is 100% successful but it also produces a ‘literalness’ not found on ‘commercial’ recordings. The result is a spectacularly natural and ultra-dynamic drum sound similar to what Glyn Johns achieved on the latest Eric Clapton album. Tim Pierce’s guitars are equally well-served in a recording by Michael C. Ross that’s nothing short of stupendously transparent, dynamic and natural.” — Music = 9/11; Sound = 11/11 — Michael Fremer, Read the whole review here.

When the Levee Breaks (Deluxe Edition) is a 180-gram, 45 RPM triple LP, triple gatefold set that includes a bonus 12″ single, from the Groove Note label.


Lado A 
1Immigrant Song
2Back Dog
Lado B
4Trampled Underfoot
Lado A 
5When the Levee Breaks (acoustic)
6The Lemon Song
Lado B
7Ramble On
8Whole Lotta Love
Lado A 
9Babe I’m Gonna Leave You
10Immigrant Song
Lado B
11Babe I’m Gonna Leave You (alternate mix – LP only bonus cut)
12Whole Lotta Love (full rock mix – LP only bonus cut)