Nat “King” Cole – After Midnight



Referência PPAN W782
Etiqueta Pure Pleasure
Embalagem 1 LP
Gramagem Vinil 180 g

Nat “King” Cole’s music is the perfect combination of romantic charm and musical invention. Cole is renowned for his big production numbers and pop hits such as “Stardust,” but he was also an accomplished and unique jazz pianist and excelled in a small-group setting. After Midnight’s album cover states that this is a “trio” release. However, Cole is actually paired up with his trio plus five guest soloists (saxophone, trombone, trumpet, percussion and violin). The dubious credits don’t matter much though. This is precious music and, without a doubt, one of Cole’s best records. Included here are wonderful and intimate renditions of Cole favorites like”Sweet Lorraine,” “(Get Your Kicks on) Route 66” and many others. Trombonist Juan Tizol performs a beautiful version of his Afro-Cuban tune “Caravan,” and Cole and violinist Stuff Smith trade some hot licks on the up-tempo “I Know That You Know.” For anybody looking to understand the depth and breadth of Cole’s jazz roots, this disc is an excellent point of departure.

1 Just You, Just Me
2 Sweet Lorraine
3 Sometimes I’m Happy
4 Caravan
5 It’s Only a Paper Moon
6 You’re Looking at Me
7 The Lonely One
8 Don’t Let it Go to Your Head
9 I Know That You Know
10 Blame it on my Youth
11 When I Grow too Old to Dream
12 Route 66
13 I Was a Little too Lonely (and You Were a Little too Late)
14 Your Can Depend on Me
15 What is There to Say
16 Two Loves Have I
17 andy
18 You’re Looking at Me (alternate take)
Scroll to Top