Efrem Kurtz - Tchaikovsky: The Nutcracker


Remasterizado na Abbey Road Studios a partir das fitas analógicas originais. 

1LP de 33RPM


ReferênciaAHIR 051
Embalagem1LP – 33RPM
GramagemVinil 180 g
Código de Barras5060218890515

Kurtz was a familiar name to the record collector of the 1950s and embarked upon a series of Tchaikovsky ballet recordings with the Philharmonia Orchestra for EMI in 1958. HIQ has already released Swan Lake and the release The Sleeping Beauty is in preparation. Of this Nutcracker highlights Gramaphone wrote: “This is probably as good a selection as could reasonably be expected.”

Cut at Abbey Road Studios from the original stereo analogue master tapes with the Neumann lathe fed an analogue pre-cut signal from a specially adapted Studer A80 tape deck with additional ‘advance’ playback head, making the cut a totally analogue process.

In the original review in The Gramophone of November 1958, R.F. remarked: “The orchestral quality is superb, and the dynamic contrasts tremendous. If you can hear the opening pizzicato notes of the Sugar-Plum Fairy, the end of the Valse des Fleurs will have your neighbours banging on the wall in desperation.”

Lado 1
2No. 2 – Marche • No. 3 – Petit Galop Des Enfants Et Entrée De Parents • No. 8 – Scène • No. 9 – Valse Des Flocons De Neige
3No. 12 – Divertissement; Le Chocolat; Le Café
Lado 2
1No. 12 – Divertissement: Le Thé; Trépak; Danse Des Mirlitons
2No. 13 – Valse Des Fleurs
3No. 14a – Pas De Deux
4No. 14b – Pour Le Danseur • No. 14c Pour La Danseuse • No. 14d – Coda • No. 15 – Valse Finale